h1

Breathing Room goes all Gilgamesh on my ass…

January 18, 2007

I had a bright idea yesterday that hit me like a ton of bricks: split the poetry collection right down the middle.  As it stands, I’ve been working on Breathing Room  in two parts: free verse and rhyming verse/archives.  So I came to the startling conclusion that it would be much more affordable for everyone involved and easier to digest if I sliced the anthology in half and released not one, but TWO poetry collections simultaneously.  The free verse portion (main study: free verse) will be released as a top end high quality print on demand edition and I’ll handle the production, design, layout and format for the rhyming edition (attic: rhymes & relics) ala Clean Up After Me, I’m Irish.    I was so pleased with the way that Clean Up After Me, I’m Irish turned out that I’d like to explore other collections with that format.  A second poetry collection is going to be the perfect concept for such a trade paperback.  This way, those who enjoy free verse can pick up the free verse book, people who like rhyming poems can pick up the rhyming poem book, and we won’t all wind up spending thirty bucks on a three hundred and fifty page monster between covers.  It’s all about choice, and speaking of choice, the fans have spoken.  In less than a week, I’ve sold almost fifty copies of Clean Up After Me, I’m Irish, so apparently, self publishing is not that bankrupt a notion.  At ten bucks a pop, they’re selling like hot cakes, and I’m going to have to re-up pretty soon.  Readers would rather skip the direct online ordering and buy direct from the tap, so far be it from me to argue the issue.  If you haven’t gotten a copy of Clean Up After Me, I’m Irish yet, my new book chronicalling two years worth of Night Life bar reviews, snatch your copy up at Don’s Atomic Comics in Depew (for only $9.95!) or click on over to:

 http://www.cafepress.com/tomfoolery4.96310262

 -where you can buy the book for $13.25 from the comfort and safety of your own home (plus five dollars shipping and handling).  That’s all I’ve got for today.  I’ll be spending most of my day off hand picking my favorite poems from the old collections and importing them to the rhyming collection.  If you don’t like poetry, it’s going to be a bumpy ride for the next eleven months or so because I’m eating, sleeping and breathing it from now until the beginning of ’08.  Deal with it.

Leave a Reply

