h1

‘Someone Should Cry For Tracy Zullo’ in The Flask Review Issue #8, ‘conflicted on a sunday’ finds a home with SP Quill

May 24, 2007

I don’t do this often, but I went on a mad submission rampage two weeks ago and one of my favorite poems, ‘Someone Should Cry For Tracy Zullo’, got accepted with The Flask Review, an online web zine that features poetry and prose.  I realize that not all of you dig poetry, but for those that do, check out the poem right here:

http://www.freewebs.com/theflaskreview/waters.htm

 While most of my prose errs on the side of being a drunken wiseass, this one was close to the heart.  When I found out a few months ago that Tracy passed away, I felt compelled to pay her some sort of tribute.  If it’s up to me, I’ll see to it that this poem catches as much print as it possibly can, because she deserves to be remembered as a sweet, talented woman who passed through my life and many others.  Of the two poetry collections I’m writing, I’m co-dedicating the free verse collection to her.  Let me know what you think.   

Subsequently, another one of my poems (‘conflicted on a sunday’) was accepted for the July 2007 print edition of SP Quill magazine.  When it rains it pours, huh?  Since poetry has never been a direct focus of mine, I’ll be spending the next year attempting publication where this is concerned in an attempt to raise awareness regarding the two collections along with some small measure of legitimacy as a poet in my own right.  While the rants and essays will always be my bread and butter, this project is equally important to me.   

And as far as the Buffalo News Gusto Club Watch reviews are going, I forgot to mention it yesterday, but my review on Rafferty’s ran last Friday while the Coyote’s review will be hitting tomorrow.  They must be pleased with the results because I’ve got two more assignments in the next week.  Let the commercial whoring begin! 

Leave a Reply

