h1

A Lot Of Effort For A Tiny Bit Of Progress

May 8, 2008

I spent almost all of my final day off before vacation getting back to my neglected duty as co-editor/compiler of the Buffalo Anthology.  Emails were sent out and responded to, bios were updated, and I posted some new information along with a slew of contributor links on the site.  In the event that you have trouble finding the site link here (over on the right towards the bottom somewhere), you can just click over to:

www.buffaloanthology.blogspot.com

     -if you want to see what I’m talking about.  Since this is the first anthology I’ve ever worked on, there’s a hell of a learning curve.   And even though the publication date has been re-slated for 2010, I spent a little time yesterday researching some local publishing houses.  I did, however, put the feelers out to BlazeVox, a local publisher of eccentric, eclectic and critically lauded prose and poetry.  They seem like a perfect fit, so I’m crossing my fingers. 

     Even after spending the majority of Tuesday on the project, it feels like I’ve only tackled a small piece of the stockpile of submissions in two seperate email boxes.  And thanks to some PM coffee and the late night insomnia that accompanied it, I wrote some new essays Monday night and the following Tuesday morning.  ‘Sawed Off Sam Walton’ is a tell-all piece about spending literally half my life in retail without getting into any gritty details.  ‘The Great Recession’ is a piece about the beginning of our national recession and a few parallels to The Great Depression, obviously.  I submitted the latter piece to the My View column of The Buffalo News.  After freelancing locally for the last seven years, I’m putting more of a focus on getting paid for my publications instead of finding print in prestige weeklies and the like.  I broke my teeth on the free press, and as far as I’m concerned, that ship has sailed.  There are plenty of other young upstarts and egomaniacal professors who can fill the pages of the free press without missing a beat. 

     I found it interesting while leafing through this week’s ArtVoice that a noted college professor who founded his own publishing company was ‘interviewing’ an author from the very same publishing house.  How can you write a non-biased interview if you have a vested interest in the subject and the book?  And how can you publish said piece and think that the rest of the town is blissfully ignorant of the connection?  I can’t be the only person who put two and two together.  There’s something to be said for the erosion of journalistic integrity.  I’ll get around to writing something about that, too.  The level of cronyism and ‘who you know’ journalism in this town astounds me sometimes.  That’s one of the main reasons why we started the Buffalo Anthology project in the first place.  There are a million talented writers in Buffalo whose voices aren’t heard because they aren’t part of the established tribe.  Some day that might change.     

Leave a Reply

