h1

1, 2, 3…Elena: Support in Defense against Elena Buscarino

July 30, 2008

     This is proving to be a crusade with quite a decent number of good soldiers.

     Immediately after sending out an emergency email and posting my ‘Open Letter To Buffalo Rising’, a veritable avalanche of emails and phone calls came in.  I’m only going to use first names because I’m not sure which people are willing to stick their necks out and which ones aren’t.   Here is just a small sampling of the support I’ve received since last evening.  

Alycia wrote me with this:

oh my god, what happened! this sounds draining and horrible! i know its none of my business but what was the batman situation? so much of what you wrote piqued my interest! i have to say that i had a bad taste in my mouth about her- i was told by someone at the news to contact her and that they’d ‘kill for a published, mediagenic author to write for them’ and after three emails and a phone mesg, never heard from her so im not surprised she’s shady. what was her one line email about?
im sure you already talked a ton about this so you might not be in the mood to share it again but friend to friend, writer to writer, if you have any spare time this week- let me know more about what happened! im so sorry about it tom- you’re a true talent and its such a shame that buffalo cant appreciate what it has and then throws tantrums when talent leaves the queen city.

And the beat goes on.  Carrie wrote me with:

     Woah.  And you copied all of those people.  Again, more proof that you are my hero.
 
What a set of BALLS!
 
I can’t wait to read their the reply.  Good for you for setting boundaries.
 
I have to get out of here now (still at work). 
 
Scott was gracious enough to offer me yet another avenue for my creative endeavors:
Tom,Richard came to the rescue this morning by saying this:

Elena doesn’t realize what a valuable thing she is giving up. If
she continues on as editor, I can see Buffalo Rising folding.

And finally, Newell responded to my email with this:

OMG. Hang on… I’m dead tired and need to get to an event, but let me get back to you in the morning. Sorry… let me have a sec to digest this.

     Now I may be a pretty prickly pair, but this…all-out war is proving to be bigger than the two of us.  It looks as if Elena should probably start seeking another job (and apparently, some psychiatric help along with a handful of prescriptions.  I truly appreciate the well-spring of ‘here here’s’ along with so many offers for help.  I know that I haven’t been easy to deal with over the years, but I would like to think that the good I’ve done for Buffalo has far outweighed all of my tantrums, outbursts and wrath-filled outbreaks.  This isn’t over.  Not by a long shot.  This proves that once again, a) Don’t f with me, because I’m going to bite back, break the skin and make it ten times worse and b) Find out who you’re dealing with before you piss in their faces.  You never know how many friends (and in what sort of positions of power and leverage) they may have.  Thanks, everybody.  Keep fighting the good fight for me because honestly, I don’t always have the strength.

 

I just recently found your stuff at BR … and thought the batman stuff was pretty cool.

If you’re looking for an outlet that will really let you do your own thing, I might recommend WNYMedia.net. There’s no print version, but their website is really cool and the way they run things there seems to flow pretty well. They’ve got a long list of contributors (including myself) and their interests go from politics to sports to theatre to … everything that isn’t politics, sports and theatre.

Anyway, best of luck and let me know.

Leave a Reply

