h1

Buscarino Redux

July 30, 2008

In a letter sent to a pal this morning:

Tom is the one who told me you were submitting the same stories to Nightlife too after I told you they had to be exclusive to us.  You had exactly one CD addressed to you, the one (name withheld) picked up.
 
It’s too bad you feel this way, and that Tom has waged a cyber war.  I frankly thought he had quit last week after he signed of with “for christ’s sake” when I told him his next story needed a Buffalo theme.  I have to tell you I shared your email with him on that subject too, by way of enforcing the fact that that’s who we are.  You understood the Buffalo aspect, but not the exclusive.  I had no idea you felt that because you weren’t being paid you had no obligation to adhere to that policy and again, it was Tom who pointed ut that things of yours that we posted were printer verbatim on Nightlife.
 
I’m frankly stymied by the inability of some to understand that we print only Buffalo-centered exclusives.  I was willing to go for the national theme with Tom, but was given the directive to add the outlets where the books and movies could be bought/rented/watched.  This made him angry obviously.
 
As for Alycia, I have no record of having corresponded with her.  Perhaps she was looking for a job rather than to submit.  We simply are not in a position to hire.
 
As for being denied, I was assigning things to Eli and interns as they came in.  On the occasions that yours showed up later, unannounced and unsolicited, of course theirs got put on line ahead of yours.  Maybe if you’d called or come in like I asked, this could have been cleared up.
 
So, Tom’s decided to bully and form what he sees as an army of soldiers.  You’d do best to ask what the crusade is about and why your commander in chief would be willing to throw you under the bus for the sake of his vendetta…a vendetta against simple BRO guidelines…oh, and me.  The big, bad editor.  Please.
    What a selfless martyr.  Give me a break.  I fired back to Newell with the following:
 
Newell,
 
I had NO objections to mentioning local media outlets.  That is not the issue.  What I DID take umbrage with was the fact that Elena wanted me to re-write a fucking graphic novel review (the content, not the plug for area stores at the end), and put a Buffalo-centric spin on the content.  I played by the rules until she sunk to a different plateau of childishness.  You had better get that bitch back on the leash or things are going to get a lot uglier.  This is not a threat, it’s a declaration of intent.  Consider yourself warned. 
 
Cheers,
Tom
     I’m pretty sure I made myself abundantly clear yesterday when I posted this information everywhere I could think of online.  If this menopausal malcontent is looking for escalation, she’s going to get what she fucking well wishes for….
Leave a Reply

