h1

Bonus Valentine’s Poem! ‘Be Mine’

February 14, 2009

Happy Valentine’s Day, everybody!

This is the first new poem I’ve written in about three months.  Odds are that it will go into my next poetry collection, Poke The Scorpion With A Sharp Stick, which is due out some time in late 2010 or early 2011.  Enjoy the holiday,

Tom Waters

Be Mine

Real Love

is 3 millimeters between our open eyes

(not so much scanning as)

taking in every speckle, fleck & dilation of the pupil

in naked adulation

or the closest thing to total understanding

that two people can have among each other.

It’s:

the guerilla hug on the way out the door to work

an instinctive hand reaching for mine in our sleep

sharing a meal meant for one

sequestering ourselves from everyone else

just to be with each other

having a nap before or after bedroom elocutions

tracing the soft scent of skin

with my finger, nose or tongue

the hiccup of breath preceding a tear I anticipate the source of which is all thanks to me (and the fact of this brings about a horrid pall of shame and guilt I’m unfamiliar with)

your eyelids brushing my cheek when you wake

the comfortable feel of your ass with my hand

knowing every curve and bump and freckle and wrinkle and laugh line and chasm of sorrow on your body from back to front with my eyes closed and every embarrassing story, parable and anecdote about your life twice (most of them), the boys who hurt you and your parents who shaped you, the girls who hated you, or a world that changed us, found us, made us, dusted us off and dropped us into the same spot together so that we could find ourselves

à

HERE

Hers, His

Who fucking cares?

We made it

for now

we have one another

Today, tomorrow, next week

which makes the rest of it bearable

that has to be Real Love

or a facsimile

thereof.

5 comments

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day, Tom and Lindsay. For you:

    They’ve Got a Love

    He’ll be there for her no matter what the weather
    She’ll be there for him when times are thin
    Even though the world around them spins
    They’ve got a love that always wins.

    When I see them together
    It always amazes me
    The beauty that I see
    When I see them together
    The strength in their love
    A love that’s enough
    To survive all the shoves
    The strength in their love

    His mind is always racing
    With words that want out
    Thoughts he wants to shout
    His mind is always racing
    She, she understands
    The quirks of her man
    Quirks she vowed to stand
    She, she understands

    She, she keeps him steady
    When his world descends
    His heart, his mind she mends
    She, she keeps him steady
    To this love each brings
    Very different things
    Things that join and cling
    To this love each brings

    He’ll be there for her no matter what the weather
    She’ll be there for him when times are thin
    Even though the world around them spins
    They’ve got a love that always wins.

    -Diane Meholick – Feb. 14, 2009

    Like


  2. Diane,
    That’s very, very sweet of you to write a poem just for us! I had a great time promoting at Borders with you last night, Lindsay and I had a great time hanging out with you at Desi’s afterwards, and the two of us had a wonderful Valentine’s Day. I’m very lucky to have Lindsay and she’s very tolerant to put up with me. You remain a wonderful friend and yes, we all need to hang out more often! Take care (and see you soon!),
    Tom

    Like


  3. Tom, I wrote music for They’ve Got a Love. Guess I’ll have to come to Desi’s on April 1st and sing a song after all. What do you think?

    Like


  4. Diane,
    The schedule for April Foolfest 2 is pretty regimented with 2 musical acts, but Lindsay and I would love to hear you perform it. I’m going to talk to my two acts and see if they don’t mind having you come up during my opening ‘set’. I’m sure you know that musicians have a temperment that’s similiar (if not greater) than writers, so I just want to make sure I’m not stepping on toes. Have a great week,
    Tom

    Like


  5. Not to worry. If I can’t sing it that night, I’ll just have to sing it for you another time.

    Like



Leave a Reply

